It’s a Very Good Place to Start

Image

Julie Andrews recommends starting at the very beginning… she also dressed her wards in curtains (just sayin’).

In the immortal words of Dave Matthews, “So much to say, so much to say, so much to say, so much to say.”

Yes, friends, I have *so* much to say 🙂

But where to begin?

Places to Potentially Begin Horribly Overdue Post:

1) Wedding Stuff: All in all, this whole planning-the-big-day thing is really just like hosting the best party ever with the people you love most in the world in a place that holds a good deal of memories and meaning. I have not found it stressful or overwhelming or drama-inducing. I have found it fun as hell a giant, colorful ball pit (hell = not so fun, bad simile). (Also, note to self: where can one rent a giant, colorful ball pit for aforementioned big day??)

I will say that I did fall prey, like many a bride-to-be, to the wedding blogs. To an extent, it was fun to read up on frugal, DIY ideas and to be bombarded with inspiration. That said, I find it highly offensive that anyone would deem it their duty to tell any couple what is and is not *the* way to do something so intimate and personal as getting engaged and getting married. If anything, I’ve learned from my little habit that there are infinite possibilities when it comes to uniting with the one you love. And they are all beautiful and perfect in their own way. Mostly because they were perfect for the, let’s face it, two people who really count here. And that is all I have to say about that.

2) Photo Stuff: After moping and whining about all of the cool stuff which was going on around me but of which I was not a part, I remembered something crucial about life: It is what you make it. And more often than not, we have to make our own magic. So I decided to whip together the creative shoot to put all of my other creative shoots to shame!

Granted, I might have gone a little overboard. There are four models, one MUA, one stylist, and one German Shephard involved. Five locations. 10 hours of prep and shooting.

But go big or go home, right?

At any rate, it’s work being done for free, but I’m loving every second of it. And every minute makes me a better photographer, a better organizer, generally stronger at what it is I want to eventually do for a living.

3) Yoga Stuff: Admittedly, there came a moment when my back-and-forthing on the “woe is me, what shall I do with my life??” thing came to a head. The universe finally threw me a bone (or, you know, slapped me upside the head) and forced me to pick between photography and yoga – at least for the time being. I’ve been trying desperately to complete my make-up hours to get my YTT certification, and had planned to attend a weekend-long workshop to gain a good deal of said hours.

Then I was offered the chance to second shoot a wedding with a photography company whose work I greatly admire.

And it was surprising how quickly I was suddenly able to chose.

The camera wins this round, but it is in no way over for my teaching.

4) Completely Non-Sequitor Stuff: If you’re going to start getting yourself up every morning at six, you’re going to have to find a way to eat dinner before eight.

Yep, I think all of those are great places to start. And finish.

Look at that 🙂

Leave a Reply

